FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:
1. WHAT IF I DON'T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT HANDGUNS OR HAVE NEVER SHOT?
We encourage you to take Basic Pistol Training first. It's not required, but highly recommended. This will help you become familiar with firearms. However, if you can load a magazine, aim and shoot, you'll probably do fine in the LTC class, but you'll want to sharpen your skills ASAP. (Having your LTC does NOT make you an expert with a firearm!) If you don't own a firearm, DON'T WORRY; you can rent one at the range ($5.00 each!) to test before making a purchase later. I will gladly assist you in making the proper choice to fit YOUR needs. Just call 214.766.0969 and we'll set up a convenient time for you or a small group.
2. CAN I GET MY "LICENSE TO CARRY CLASS" FOR FREE? (Note: LTC class fee is separate from the State Fee. State fee ranges from $0-$40)
Get your LTC Class for FREE if you get 12 others to sign up and pay for a class! Class can be held at your home, church, business--you name the place and we'll work out the date. Call: 214-766-0969 for details. Depending on whether you're retired, in the military, etc., the state fees range from $0-$40. State Fee info is here.
3. WHERE IS THE CLASS AND HOW LONG IS IT? (See "Class Dates" for possible different locations)
The Texas Department of Public Safety (Texas DPS website) requires a minimum of 4 hours, maximum 6 hours of training (not counting breaks, lunch & range time) for a new applicant. The total class time & shooting time will run from 8:00am to about 4:00pm, depending on the length of our lunch break and shooting time. We start out at The Heights, Richardson (Map), then head to Eagle Gun Range for the proficiency (shooting) portion. Most of the classes will be at:
The Heights (Map)
201 West Renner Road (& 75)
Richardson, TX 75080
From September on we’ll be at:
Creekside Church (Map)
1105 N. Waterview Dr (at Arapaho)
Richardson, TX 75080
NOTE: Please arrive at the classroom location at 7:50 am because you will need to sign a few disclaimer papers. DO NOT BRING FIREARM INTO THE CLASS ROOM!
Important! Other classes are at different locations. Please see "Class Dates" for info. If you choose one of the other dates, you'll see the relevant location information when you're signing up for that particular date (for example: some classes might be taught at Cabela's in Allen and start at 9am)
4. WHERE IS THE RANGE AND WHAT DO I NEED TO BRING? (Other dates are at other locations, not always at Eagle Gun Range)
Eagle Gun Range: (Please watch their short range tour) It'll help save you time if you'll read the Range Rules here. Eagle has a new location in Addison at Beltline and Midway. All shooting will be at this new location:
Eagle Gun Range (Map)
14400 Midway Rd
Farmers Branch, TX (between Belt Line and Spring Valley, more like Addison)
You can bring your own handgun, borrow a friend's gun, or rent one at Eagle Gun Range for $5.00. Your firearm must be unloaded and kept in your bag/container until instructed to remove it while in the shooting bay area.
It can be a .22 caliber or larger (.32, .380, .38, .357, 9mm, .40 or .45 caliber). You can use either a revolver or semi-automatic that is in good working condition.
You'll need 50 rounds (one box) of factory ammunition. RELOADED / REMANUFACTURED AMMO IS NOT ALLOWED. If you rent a firearm, you'll have to purchase your ammo from the range.
One or two magazines if using a semi-auto handgun.
Hearing and eye protection (bring your own or purchase at the range). Normal eye glasses are acceptable.
Clothing that is suitable for a shooting range. Closed collar helps keep possible hot shell casings from flying in your shirt or blouse, which can get a little hot and cause you to flinch. If this happens, your gun could become misdirected.
DO NOT wear sandals! It’s easy to slip down.
5. WHAT IS THE COST OF THE LTC CLASS & BASIC PISTOL CLASS?
$75.00 for LTC Class (plus discounted range fee).
$150.00 for Basic Pistol Training. (For 2-4 students, $100.00 each, plus range fee & 1 or 2 boxes of ammo.) Keep in mind, I spend more time (2-3 hours) with you than most instructors. I want you to feel confident and not rushed. What you'll learn in my class will take you several weeks with other instructors, or on your own.
6. WHAT IF I HAVE TO CANCEL?
Regarding LTC: Payment is Non Refundable. If you cancel 24 hours or less before class, you can sign up and PAY for the next class offered. (If sickness is the issue, of course we'll help you out). But if you just "No Show," you must pay fee again to take any future class. Also, if an emergency situation comes up and you cannot attend the class you paid for, there is still no refund, however, the fee you paid is still good for any class for the next 6 months. After that, you’ll have to sign up and pay again for any future class.
Regarding Basic Pistol: If you pay for a pistol training session ahead of time and cannot keep the scheduled date and time, fees are not refundable, however, they are good for 4 months to reschedule).
6. WHO IS ELIGIBLE TO GET THEIR LTC?
You must be at least 21 years of age or 18 years of age and on active duty in the U.S. Military, and not a convicted felon. You need to read Eligibility Requirements listed here on the Texas DPS website.
7. WHAT DO I NEED FOR THE CLASSROOM?
Pen and notepad (we provide)
Current State of Texas Driver's License or I.D. Card
You WILL NOT need your firearm in the class room; only at the range, or you can rent a firearm and ammo. Please do NOT go out and buy a firearm for this class. Just wait and try before you buy. Buying a firearm is like buying shoes or a car. Take your time and try some out first.
A great attitude and willingness to learn. Be ready to have a lot of fun!
8. MAY I BRING FOOD TO CLASS?
I'll usually have donuts waiting for you, but you can bring your own snacks. We have drink and snack machines. There will be short breaks throughout the morning.
9. WHAT TOPICS ARE COVERED IN THE CLASS?
Students will receive classroom instruction pertaining to: F.U.D.S. (FOODS)
FORCE (use of deadly force) parts A,B (1.5 hours)
USE (how to use a firearm safely) (1 hour)
DISPUTES (handling disputes & resolutions) (1 hour)
SAFETY (gun safety and storage) (1 hour)
New "Open Carry" Laws (Here)
Selection of a concealed carry gun
Handgun proficiency test
Legal aftermath of a shooting and how to protect yourself legally
Handguns & ammo are NOT ALLOWED in the classroom by the students.
10. IF I QUALIFY WITH A REVOLVER, WILL I BE ABLE TO CARRY A SEMI-AUTO?
Yes, and vice versa. Remember, a .22 now permitted to qualify. (However, I personally recommend using a .380 or 9mm. It's like throwing a bigger rock to stop the threat.)
11. AT WHAT DISTANCES DO I SHOOT FOR QUALIFCATION?
12. WHAT IS THE PASSING SCORE FOR THE RANGE QUALIFICATION?
You must score 70%+, or 175 points out of the possible 250 points in order to pass.
13. WHAT HAPPENS IF I DON'T PASS THE RANGE QUALIFICATION?
You may take the range proficiency test up to 3 times before you are classified as having not passed. (please see Terms & Conditions). You must have 50 rounds of ammunition for each attempt. So, just in case, bring some extra ammo, or you can purchase ammo at the range. This course is designed for you to PASS, not flunk. Just remember: We're here to help you get your LTC, and you're gonna have a lot of fun!
14. WILL THERE BE A TEST ON THE CLASSROOM PORTION?
Yes. There is a test consisting of true/false and multiple choice questions given after a brief review. It's the only test you'll ever take that's actually FUN!